Dumb Conversation with my Credit Card Company

So going over my credit card statement I find that my wife’s card (a secondary on my account) has been compromised. I then phone up my credit card company and proceed to have this bizarre conversation:

CSR: “How can I help you today?”.

Me: Explains problem and asks for my cards to be stopped and new ones issued.

CSR: Asks me a security question

Me: Answers

CSR: “Right sir your cards have been stopped and new ones will be issued in 3 – 5 working days.”

Me: “I’m travelling to the US next Saturday and I need my card, can this process be expedited?”

CSR: “No. It will take 3 – 5 working days. But you are travelling to the US?”

Me: “Yes.”

CSR: “I should make a note of that so your new card isn’t declined when you travel abroad”

Me: “Yeah okay”

CSR: “So I’ll need to ask you another security question”

Me: “Why, you just let me stop the cards and issue new ones. It’s still me, it’s still you?”

CSR: “I need to ask you another security question”

Me: “Okay”

CSR: “What is the sort code for your main bank account?”

Me: “I don’t have that information at hand, sorry”

CSR: “Okay, I’ll ask you another. On what day was your last birthday last year?”

Me: “Well which, my last birthday or my birthday last year?”

CSR: “On what day was your last birthday last year?”

Me: “Okay Saturday”

CSR: “Wrong”

Me: “Okay you meant my last birthday, not last year, in that case Sunday”

CSR: “Sorry you got that one wrong I’ll have to ask you another”

Me: “Okay”

CSR: “Do you have your statement there with you?”

Me: “Yes”

CSR: “Good. On the 16 there is a transaction for food what is the name of the establishment?”

Me: “There are two establishmentA and establishmentB”

CSR: “What is your final answer?”

Me: “What do you mean?”

CSR: “You must choose one and it must match the answer I have here.”

Me: “How am I supposed to know which one you want?”

CSR: “You must choose one and it must match the answer I have here.”

Me: “Okay, establishmentB”

CSR: “Sorry that is the wrong answer”

Me: “Okay let’s go again”

CSR: “I’m sorry, you have answered 3 questions incorrectly I must pass you to my supervisor”

Me: “What?! I didn’t even want to do this part anyway, it was your idea!”

CSR: “If you do not wish to continue with the transaction you may hang up.”

Me: Click.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dumb Conversation with my Credit Card Company

  1. James Shaw says:

    lol..and yet you are still nice enough to not name the card company 🙂

    (via twitter, first time here and loving the blog byline!)

  2. Steve 1 says:

    Anyone know how to put a spam filter on this blog?

  3. garyshort says:

    Hi James, welcome along. I’d love to take credit for the byline, but I’m sure I saw it on a T shirt somewhere. 🙂

  4. garyshort says:

    Hi Steve, there is a spam filter on this blog, but it doesn’t catch everything I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

