How to Increase your Number of Twitter Followers

Recently a friend of mine (@Ben_Hall) noticed that I’d increased my number of followers on Twitter and asked me how I had done it. I replied that although what I’d done was simple I couldn’t explain it in 140 characters and that I’d write a blog post, so for Ben (and for you if you are interested) here’s what I did:

  1. Assume that people following you (with the exception of spammers) are interested in what you have to say.
  2. Assume that people following your followers *might* also be interested in what you have to say.
  3. For each of your followers…
    1. look at what they have twittered most recently
    2. If it is representative of what you want to say
      1. Look at their first page of followers (they are the most recent followers and are most likely to interested in what has most recently been said)
      2. Follow each (non spam) follower there
  4. Do nothing for 48 hours, to allow those that you have followed to reciprocate.
  5. Run a script to unfollow those who have not followed you (cos you can’t have a conversation with someone who isn’t listening) with the exception of those who’s views you are interested in regardless of if they follow you or not.

Okay so this is a pretty general solution and YMMV but it works for me. It increases my number of followers but still keeps them relevant to what I have to say and what I am interested in hearing about.

Hope it helps you!

This entry was posted in Community, Evangelism. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Increase your Number of Twitter Followers

  1. shun2u says:

    haha..this was what i did to increase my twitter followers.

  2. lifebite says:

    glad to see it worked for you, every little bit helps i suppose. i just love it when i write a useful, helpful, tweet @lifebite and it gets retweeted. thats great

Leave a Reply

